Each year NCAC recognizes the notable contributions of Free Speech Defenders whose activism has had a profound impact on the protection of First Amendment rights.

Join us on November 13, 2023, at Tribeca Rooftop, 2 Desbrosses Street, New York, New York, from 6 – 9:30 p.m. ET, as NCAC honors this year’s free speech defenders during LET ME SPEAK: a Celebration of Free Speech & Its Defenders, presented by Macmillan Publishers.

For information regarding tickets and sponsorship opportunities, please contact NCAC’s Chief Strategy and Development Officer, Josh Corday, at [email protected].

Benefit Tickets


Free Speech Defender, Artist

Coco Fusco
Artist & Writer

Free Speech Defender, Author

Juno Dawson
Young Adult Author  

Free Speech Defender, Student Artist 

Madeline Scotti
Douglas Anderson School of the Arts, Jacksonville FL

Judy Blume Lifetime Achievement
Award for Free Speech

Nadine Strossen
Professor, NYU Law School
Former President, ACLU

Leanne G. Katz Founder’s Award 

John Sargent
Chairman, The Ocean Conservancy
Former CEO, Macmillan


Raj Haldar
Author, Producer, Rapper

 ** Honor one of the awardees or place a message supporting free expression in our event program. Email [email protected] for details.


Greg Lukianoff, President, Foundation for Individual Rights and Expression

Aryeh Neier, co-founded Human Rights Watch


Floyd Abrams, Senior Counsel, Cahill Gordon & Reindel LLP

Audrey Barsella, Communications Manager,  Sourcebooks

Karen Gantz Zahler, President, Karen Gantz Literary Management.

Cody Lassen, Tony Award-Winning and Grammy Award Nominated American Theater Producer and Consultant


Jon Anderson
Molly Ellis
Beth Fitzsimmons
Randall Kennedy
Jonathan Whitaker