The New York Library Association awarded the National Coalition Against Censorship the 2010 NYLA/SirsiDynix Intellectual Freedom Award. The award is given to an individual or organization that has demonstrated a commitment to, and taken action, to further the cause of intellectual freedom in the state of New York.

NCAC Executive Director Joan Bertin received the award at NYLA’s Annual Conference in Saratoga Springs, NY. The NYLA/SirsiDynix Award was first given in 1984. Past winners include: Lewis Lapham, Lampham’s Quarterly, Rockland Coalition for Democracy and Freedom, Fran Aveta, and Robert Trudell, among others.