This year we received triple the amount of submissions than usual, and were very impressed!  We usually choose 10 semi-finalists, but this time we simply had to make room for 13.  We congratulate the semi-finalists and all our applicants for their hard work and excellent ideas!

Jordan Allen
Nathaniel Dueber
Aaron Dunbar
Taylor Dunlap and Caroline Dunaway
Jovan Landry
Lauren Leak
Noemie Long
Jack McClintock
Ashley Mills
Amy Obarski
Stephen Small and Tom Piasny
Katelyn Whitehead
Emily May Wingren

The top three winners be flown to New York City for the Youth Voices Uncensored event in the spring!  They will also be awarded cash prizes of $1000, $500, $250, and the first place winner will receive a $5000 partial scholarship to the New York Film Academy or a one week digital filmmaking workshop.

Films are judged on content, artistic and technical merit, and creativity. Our renowned panel of judges include:

Kahlil Almustafa (spoken word artist, writer, educator)
Kathy Brew (award-winning independent filmmaker)
Shelbi Kepler (2008 YFEN 2nd place winner)
Shelby Knox (filmmaker and speaker)
Emily Kunstler (co-founder Off-Center Media)
Sarah Kunstler (co-founder Off-Center Media)
Mark Heyman (co-producer and director of development for Protozoa Pictures)
Julia Morgan (associate producer Louverture Films)
and the New York Film Academy

Stay tuned for more information about our Youth Voices Uncensored event in the spring, where we will award our winners and announce next year’s contest!

Visit YFEN’s website to learn more about our film contest.