Issue 63, Fall 1996

Composer Elliott Sharp has produced State of the Union, 146 artists responding to the presidential State of the Union address in 146 minutes. The protest album about freedom of expression includes Spalding Gray, Allen Ginsberg, John Lurie, Jessica Hagedorn, and Penny Arcade. All profits from the double CD will be donated to NCAC.

It’s available through most record outlets or send $15 to Atavistic Records, PO Box 578266, Chicago IL 60657-8266. For a list of all the artists, log onto